CD - Live at Billy Bob's Texas

View larger image

CD - Live at Billy Bob's Texas

CODE: CD-168-B

Price: 8.55

In stock

CD - Live at Billy Bob's Texas

A live recording of Merle at one of the nation's best Country Music Night Clubs.

Recorded New Year's Eve 1999. Coming into the new millennium with a BANG! 15 Top Ten Hits, 9 No. 1 Hits. Also including the new "Blue Yodel #13" and "Motorcycle Cowboy".

Product Description


Ever since I heard Merle Haggard singing his first recording back in December of 1963, I've been a true believer in the man and what he represents. The song was titled, "Sing A Sad Song" and was on the Tally record label. Now, this was back when very few independent labels had a chance at record sales. However, I well remember the yellow colored "Tally Records" label out of California because the singer was, without a doubt, the best I had heard in years! I also recall the reaction from the listeners of my radio show when I first aired "Hag". And you've got to remember: "Sing A Sand Song" hit the charts during the Christmas season, the worst time of year to release a recording, unless it has a seasonal sound.

Now, 36 years later, I am a bigger fan of this study in genuine talent than ever before. The reason? because Merle Haggard is singing better today than ever, as you will quickly notice on this very special album.

You will quickly notice on these tracks that Hag is at his finest. The tones are as super as when he was turning out smash-after-smash-after-smash during over three decades of unbelievable singing.

In this super collection of Haggard at his best, you will actually feel the currents of entertaining energy the man releases when he hits the stage. Listen to Hat ...and then listen to the response from the audience! And that is one reason I was so very happy to witness this "Live!" production from Billy Bob's Texas. You have the opportunity to hear the "greatest" as he delivers his goods to those who paid to see and hear him continue an unbeatable tradition in country music. Every song, like Merle, is a winner.

Live at Billy Bob's Texas CD
1. Misery & Gin John Robert Durrill, Garrett Snuff
2. Working Man Blues Merle Haggard
3. Silver Wings Merle Haggard
4. Swinging Doors Merle Haggard
5. That's The Way Love Goes Lefty Frizzell, Sanger D. Shafer
6. The Bottle Let Me Down Merle Haggard
7. Ramblin' Fever Merle Haggard
8. The Emptiest arms In The World Merle Haggard
9. Mama Tried Merle Haggard
10. Hungry Eyes Merle Haggard
11. Mototcycle Cowboy / Blue Yodel #13 Merle Haggard
12. If We Make It Through December Merle Haggard
13. Are The Good Times Really Over Merle Haggard
14. Okie From Muskogee Merrle Haggard, Roy Edward Burns
15. Big City Merle Haggard, Dean Holloway
16. Ida Red James Robert Willis
17. Today I Started Loving You Again Merle Haggard, Bonnie Owens